Penalties for DWAI Offenses in Colorado

DWAI is an offense for Driving While Ability Impaired, which is similar to a DUI. In Colorado, to be charged with a DUI, you Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) has to be over .08% when 21 and older. If your BAC is under .08%, you can still be charged with DWAI. This offense involves having a BAC of over .05% but under .08%. The penalties for these types of offenses are harsh, even though the crime is less serious than a DUI. Team up with a Boulder DUI lawyer for help fighting against a DWAI charge in Colorado. The penalties follow this breakdown:

First DWAI Offense:

  • Jail time between 48 hours and 180 days
  • A fine between $200 and $500
  • 8 license points
  • 24 to 48 hours of public service

Second DWAI Offense:

  • Jail time between 10 days and one year
  • A fine between $600 and $1,500
  • One year license suspension
  • 8 license points
  • 48 to 120 hours of public service

Third DWAI Offense:

  • Jail time between 60 days and one year
  • A fine between $600 and $1,500
  • Two year license suspension
  • 8 license points
  • 48 to 120 hours of public service

There is no restriction to the look back period for DUI or DWAI convictions. Your offense could be considered a second or multiple DUI even if the previous conviction was more than 20 years ago. Also, you cannot expunge your conviction in the state of Colorado. The court and law enforcement will have access to these convictions for life. If you are facing DWAI or DUI charges, you are at risk of serious consequences that affect your criminal record. Contact Lancaster Law Office LLC to schedule your free initial consultation! Our DUI attorneys in Boulder have years of experience defending clients facing DUI charges and we may be able to help you as well.

Categories: DWAI

What Are You Waiting For?

Don’t leave your future in jeopardy. Contact our firm for a FREE consultation!

Free Case Evaluation